5 little things you can do to help with health and weight loss


Generally, when asked how to lose weight (and I’m asked all the time), I tell people that they need to make a choice to live a healthier lifestyle that includes not only improved diet and exercise, but also creating a solid foundation of knowledge about nutrition and their own body.  While I firmly believe this is the best way to lose weight,  and become more healthy, sometimes we need to start with little things.  If you feel like changing your whole lifestyle is to much right now, and it’s keeping you from making ANY changes,  maybe just changing a few things will help pave the way.  With that in mind, I’ll mention the 5 things I think are the best way to begin taking back your health.  In order of least to most important, here are the 5 things I think will quickly and without to much stress, start you on your journey towards health.

5.  Start walking places.  If you’re not in a rush, and where you’re going isn’t an overly large distance away, walk there.  I know we’re all very busy, but really, will an extra hour really kill you?  Walk that mile to the store and back.  Sure it’ll take 45 minutes instead of 10, but what were you going to do instead?  Watch TV?

4. Start a food diary.  I’m not saying you need to record exact amounts and nutrient types,  just get a small pocket notebook, or use your phone as a note taker, and jot down what you ate (and drank) for the day.  This may come in handy one day, if nothing else, it’ll force you to eat consciously.  Many people eat subconsciously, not even realizing they are eating or eating out of boredom, you’d be surprised at how effective this technique is at curbing that behavior.

3. Do 1 less thing every day.  Give yourself 1 more hour of time to do something you enjoy.  Stress is a huge factor in disease and bad health.  Give your body some active downtime by doing something, anything, that you like doing.  Whether that’s yoga, or gardening, or reading, or BMX racing doesn’t matter, it’s a stress reduction technique, and it works.  Stress triggers cortisol release, cortisol is a hormone that stimulates abdominal fat storage, obviously the less abdominal fat, the better.

2. Write out some personal goals.  You’d be surprised at how many people don’t have personal goals.  We should all have at least 1 well written,  well defined, and well thought out goal.  And I don’t mean a wish.  Hey, I want to be the winning pitcher for the RedSox in the world series game seven too, but that’s a wish, not a goal.  Sit down, think of a good, ACHIEVABLE long term goal (a year or more in the future), and write out some steps, timelines, and parameters for that goal.  You can always add more goals, or change your existing goals later.  Goals help you organize your life, allowing other changes to seem more reachable.  Including health and weight loss.

And the number 1 little thing you can do to help with health and weight loss:

1. Reduce the sugar.  I know, sounds simple right.  Well it is,  cut the regular sodas out, that’s a huge one,  cut the sugary snacks to 1/2 what you eat now, I’m not saying remove them entirely right now (although eventually you’ll want to make them a special occasion thing), make white breads and pastas whole wheat breads and pastas.  You do this, you’re half way to a healthy nutrition.

and remember,  as a general rule (there are exceptions) the outside isles in the grocerie market are you friend, the middle, not so much.

regards all!

-Banks

About banks1850

I'm a regular guy, very happily married, I have no kids, 1 dog (ok he's sort of a kid), love sports (playing and watching), and enjoy helping others. I'm an ACE certified personal trainer since early 2010 and I focus on impact athletics performance training and also beginner development for both nutrition and exercise. I'm a bit of a nerd, as such I love to read about health and wellness and much of my nutrition and biological knowledge comes from college and advanced text.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Excellent! Thanks

  2. Great point about defining how you plan to reach your goals. I have goals set, but I have yet to define the path I’ll take to get there. I should do that.

    Also-interesting observation about the grocery store. I shopped today and completely skipped most of the innner isles…that’s where the frozen goods, soda, chips, and candy are!! I mainly bought produce, meats, yogurt and wheat bread.
    Hoping to keep up the weight loss this week, we’ll see what happens. I own’t be able to exercise because I blew out my back yesterday. I’m on “bed rest” for 2 days. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

